New Central Air and Heat Pump Specifications from ENERGY STAR

Posted on

With the upcoming increase in Department of Energy (DOE) energy conservation standards, which go into effect Jan. 1, 2015, the Us Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is considering changing the specifications for central air conditioners and heat pumps necessary for systems to earn ENERGY STAR certification. The changes will apply to split system central air conditioners, split system air-source (non-geothermal) heat pumps, single package central air conditioners, and single package air-source heat pumps.

Why the change?

The change comes in response to upcoming changes in federal energy efficiency standards, which will, in some cases, soon be equal to ENERGY STAR standards. Since ENERGY STAR certified systems represent the highest in energy efficiency, it’s necessary that they beat out federal standards to reflect products that offer the highest energy and cost savings to the consumer.

Here is a list of the new standards, provided by

You’ll notice there are regional differences for split system central air conditioners—this is due to regional climate differences. All other specifications are national.

For more information about the ENERGY STAR changes or to learn more about installing an ENERGY STAR rated heating or cooling system in your home, call Michael Bonsby Heating & Air Conditioning today!

Get Help Today! Same day service, 7 days a week 301-990-7970

We Finance Quick credit decision.

Learn More